A New Year Begins Here

Well OK, my first posting for a while but if you are making things for people who read your blog then you’re pretty well stuffed if you want to write about it.

But, dear readers, Christmas is over for another 12 months so I can at least tell you about the makes in the preceding weeks before Christmas 2016 now.

If you have read any previous festive blogs of mine, (if not, why not?) then you will know that I have a tradition that the staff I work with get a hand made decoration every year from yours truly. I really love making them as much as they enjoy receiving them and for me half the fun is coming up with an idea that I think they’ll like.

Some of the lovely ladies I work with are grandparents, one is a Christmas addict, I’m sure there’s aa word for that but I don’t know what it is, and another is a young mum so I need to come up with things that suit everyone. Again, that’s half the fun for me. Also you’ll probably know that I and many millions of others are addicted to Pinterest which aids the the little grey cells but wastes an inordinate amount of time!

Anyway, the point in Pinterest is that you save all your ideas to boards and then plough through them every now and then thinking “Crikey! Have I really saved that many crochet hat patterns” and other such things. If you’re on Pinterest you’ll know exactly what I mean and if you’re not then just believe me, its true. Having saved things, and then going through them, I decided that I would make small wire framed fairies for everyone and set about the task which began with a YouTube video.

I didn’t have that long to make them as we were due to go away on holiday for two weeks in late November/early December so began my task. Pictures next!

In the meantime at work I had agreed to share my office with one of the stock managers who was then invited to our Christmas meal. Now let me assure you, he’s not a fairy kind of bloke. Saying that he does like Christmas so I had to come up with something else.

These are so not him!

They were quite intricate and a bit fiddly but the hardest thing was finding the correct sized silk flowers to make them. They have wire framed bodies so will wrap themselves around a branch or sit on a shelf.

img_0155

I had to make eight in all. In the meantime I was busy making my Christmas cards and also had some birthdays to make cards for. I’m not going to go into details but out came the Big Shot and here are some of the results. I was quite pleased.

See, in all the excitement I nearly forgot to tell you all what I decided to make for our new male member of the team.

whilst perusing the internet I saw a die from Concorde and 9th. An American company but found one singular outlet in the U.K.

The die is called “Take a bough” and is gorgeous, I had to wait for new stock to come in but look what I made.

img_2184

The first tree I finished was given to the log man who we buy our logs from as he found a tree trunk that was about 25feet long ang chopped off some bits about 2 inches deep for me to “plant” my trees in. I had to say Thank You and the best way, so I thought was to give him and his wife the first tree. Luckily they loved it.

As if that wasn’t enough I decided to make my own air drying clay! Don’t ask, just blame Pinterest.

img_0158

Better start planning next Christmas………

Leave a Reply

