D is for……Culinary Alphabet

Well chaps, if you’ve seen Rachel’s blog posting you’ll already know that D is for dates.
I’ve had my dates for about 3weeks but time hasn’t really been on my side so I only got round to cooking with them this weekend.
I’d already decided what to make though and luckily, even though Rachel cooked about a dozen datey delights, I came up with something different.

IMG_1943.JPG

I made a sticky toffee pudding using Nigella Lawson’s Easy Sticky Toffee Pudding recipe. I had made it before and she also has a brilliant self saucing chocolate pudding recipe and hey! Who doesn’t like a nice gooey pudding?

The messiest bit was the chopping of the dates. I have to say that even though I dusted my date pieces with flour before mixing them in the batter, they all sank to the bottom so we had a gooey pudding with a chewy datey layer but Simon and I both agreed that it tasted good which to be honest is what it’s all about.

Here’s the finished article……

IMG_1946.JPG

IMG_1945.JPG

And finally, before is go away and think of eggy things for the next post, here’s the recipe in case you want to give it a try.

Mmmmm, wonder if Simons left me any? I’m quite peckish now.

IMG_1944.JPG

2 thoughts on “D is for……Culinary Alphabet

Leave a Reply

