I don’t give a Fig!

This is the second attempt at a posting. The first one vanished into the ether just as my photos were being uploaded. Typical.

Anyway, what I was whiffling on about before and I will again was the fact that accidentally we found out this week was that the library has a fig tree.

I know, you’re thinking, how can anyone not know they have a fig tree. Well we didn’t because the side of our library is next to their car park. (Park at your peril!) and the tree is in the corner of their car park in the furthest possible spot from the library.

A member of the public asked them if he could take some cuttings and the receptionist, along with the confirmation of a solicitor told him it belonged to us. Ever since I have been at the library I have snuck in on a Saturday when I’ve been working to pick the fruit and kept quiet about it so that I didn’t get caught. Now I find out I needn’t have bothered!

The man asked us if he could have a look at it and reported back that it was dripping with ripe fruit. He went out again and brought us back a bagful of fruit along with a bag for himself.
Frances and Rachel had never had fresh figs before and happily they both like them. Both had had bad experiences with fig rolls and syrup of figs, enough said. Their families didn’t like them but that just means more for us!

Fresh figs

Fresh figs

Most people know of my addiction to Pinterest so a search was made for fig recipes. I found about three different recipes for Fig Jam and have decided to make a batch of Fig And Honey Jam.

Buxton, the kitten was removed from the room as he was showing a bit too much interest and the weighing and chopping was started.
Simon couldn’t find my preserving pan in the garage so I used the large lidded pan that I bought in the brilliant Asian supermarket in Keighley. Two more addictions, large pans and the Asian supermarket!

imageimage

It was a great recipe and simple. Seven jars out of the first batch. I think I might try a different recipe for the next batch.

imageimage

image

Fig and Honey Jam

4 1/2 lbs ripe figs
2 1/4 cups honey
9 tablespoons water
Juice of 2 lemons

Chop figs and place in a large pan with the honey and the water.
Place over a medium heat and simmer until the jam gels and the setting point is reached.
Add the lemon juice and cook for another couple of minutes.

Ladle into clean, sterile jars, cool then pop on lids.

This can be used on top of toasted tea cakes or with cheese and crackers.

image

One thought on “I don’t give a Fig!

Leave a Reply

