As Busy as a Bee

Well, that sums things up at the moment.

I have so many things that I want to do but not really enough time. Sometimes work does get in the way but then the brain is still whizzing around at the same time so I can’t complain.

I have been knitting quite a bit lately but I have made another couple of bags.

This is the first one……

The Bucket Bag

It’s made with the same fabric as the previous bag but the lining is actually curtain lining left over from when I made our living room curtains. No-one will ever know. Ssshhhh.

I bought the cord for the handles when we were in Cambridge the other week. I actually bought it before the fabric but it goes really well with the sage green corduroy I have as well.

The handles are long enough to pop the bag over your shoulder but they are short enough not to drag on the floor if dangled daintily from your hand. I’m more of a shoulder slinger myself but as I don’t know who will be the recipient I’ll allow for either.

Last week I saw the Adventuring Old Bag and her daughter. Holly wanted a bag for her new DS and has taken a bit of a shine to her Mum’s bag which you can see on her blog. I said that I could make her a bag and here my friends is the result.

The pink canvas is one of my charity shop finds last week and the spotty stuff, well thats leftover tea towel from my apron making exploits. I don’t throw anything away!

I based the shape on her mum’s bag but have made a spotty pocket on the front and given it a magnetic clasp. It sits really nicely and I have stitched a few inches on each side so the sides don’t flop outwards when it’s open.

I’m really pleased with it but as I haven’t given it to Holly yet my happiness might be a bit premature.

Maybe I shouldn’t be putting it on the blog yet but Oh! live dangerously. It’s as dangerous as life gets.

Anyway, I have had a rather productive weekend as I have hoovered the house from top to bottom and caught up with all of the washing. I can actually see the bottom of the washing basket but as Simon has just gone to work and started another week of uniform wearing then I’m sure it won’t be long before I have another basket full of shirts and underwear.

Oh well, time to relax for the rest of the afternoon. After I’ve put out the recycling that is.

Martini Time

One thought on “As Busy as a Bee

  1. Love the bags – especially the one with the long handles.
    I appreciate what you say about the spinning brain, I seem to be getting that a lot lately!

Leave a Reply

